Desire

April 5, 2014 § Leave a comment

Take delight in the LORD, and He will give you the desires of your heart.
Psalm 37:4

Growing up, if I had been asked to select my favorite verse in the bible, this would be it. Makes sense, right? The something-about-being-happy-and-God’ll-give-us-what-we-want verse. And nothing is too big/great for my God, so naturally I’m setting myself up for a win-win situation in one simple step. That’s how we’re engineered as humans. We treat God’s favor as if we need to complete a few steps from scripture to earn it, as if grace wasn’t a gift. How many of us skip over the sheer beauty of the first part of the verse, and end up putting our hope in the second part because that’s the part that benefits us. That’s the part that might make some of our obstacles a little more bearable in the morning because something we want will come to us soon, you know if we pray. Or if we’re patient. There are lots of things about waiting and (wait for it)… being patient in the bible. But hey, we’re busy people and we skip over those parts.

“Take delight in the Lord,” do we really understand what this is asking? This is asking for a process, not a step. Remembering to take delight in the Lord when things are going smoothly, and not attributing everything to ourselves. Also taking delight in the Lord when we are hopelessly trying to stitch the broken fragments of our world back together. Fixing the problem ourselves (of course) because unless we are focusing on the last part of that verse, the part where our abundant God is just going to give us what we want, we don’t really want His help.

Here is my 2.0 take on this verse: At the point in my life that I decide to truly take delight in my God, through His blessings and trials, my desires begin to align with His will for my life. He becomes my prize, His will becomes my way, and I begin to trust Him. I believe at this moment the desires of our hearts won’t be put in temporary things that will soon pass. At this moment, the moment that we fully take delight and joy in Him, He has become the sole desire of our hearts, which is why He can fulfill our needs because what we actually desire is Him. It’s always been Him, and in fact, He’s already given Himself to us. God sacrificed Himself to give us another shot at a relationship with Him because He is our desire. If that isn’t enough reason for you to take delight in the Lord today, I won’t be able to give you a better one.

I once had a thousand desires, but in my one desire to know You, all else melted away
-Rumi

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Desire at Her mouth speaks from that which fills her heart.

meta

