2k14

January 2, 2014 § Leave a comment

Recently I have had the privilege of catching up with several of my hometown friends since this is the longest time I have been home in quite a while. This was probably one of my favorite conversations in a while, and now it is highly woven into my New Year’s resolution, so I thought I’d just share some of it.

The main point of conflict stems from me feeling like for a long time that I have been standing on an imaginary fence, split between loving the people that treat me miserably, and letting them go. I’m aware this shouldn’t come as a surprise; a lot of people go through this situation especially when their heart is more invested than another person’s. This seems to be life’s preferred type of curve ball, the kind where your mind and heart reside on two completely separate pages. When I wasn’t standing on that fence and had actually picked a side I was still just as stuck, always wondering what the other side looked like. It was almost like I hadn’t picked at all. (Note to self: Keep the friends that ask you a lot of why questions. The ones that force you to think care that you understand yourself). The turning point in this conversation came from me realizing that a fence should have never existed in the first place because God’s grace finds expression in the way we treat both people and possessions.

Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.
-John 15:13

Don’t let people put you on a fence. Make you feel like you need to choose. Maybe people won’t understand the way you love, but this is the perfect opportunity to extend to them the incomprehensible love that envelops us all. At the end of the day you can’t be responsible for other people’s actions, or the way they decide to treat you, and that shouldn’t be your goal either way. Your goal should be to love in spite of it all, not because you “deserve it”, but because they do.

There is nothing more beautiful than the way the ocean refuses to stop kissing the shoreline, no matter how many times it is sent away.
-The Great Gatsby

My resolution: Live life with an attitude of appreciation in the light of His mercy and grace. No expectations, and no taking moments for granted. Happy New Year everyone!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 2k14 at Her mouth speaks from that which fills her heart.

meta

